Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Im certain I have Seborrhoeic Dermatitis, what shampoo do I use?

ForgottenPast22
@forgottenpast22
12 years ago
11 posts

Hello, Im new here and in need of immediate help. Im almost certain I have Seborrhoeic Dermatits, (A doctor about 10 years about said I some scalp condition but I cant remember because I was really young, all I know is that ive always had to use certain medicated shampoos) and now that ive been dreading for 10 months I think its vital that I find exactly what I need. Ive been alternating between DHHQ shampoo (which ive stopped) and have mainly been using Knotty Boy because it really does sooth my scalp itching but only lasts for a day. I now am thinking I need to find something that is really effective for long term use. I get really bad flakes, after two days iliterallyhave flakes all over my shirt, bed, etc. I have red itchy flaky spots on my scalp. What can I do to completely remedy this that wont harm my dreads or leave resiudes? Is there really a safe way to do this? I ordered someTea Tree & Rosemary Dreadlocks Shampoo Bar from the dreadlockshampoo.com site, is this all I need to solve my problem or what should I do? Thanks!

updated by @forgottenpast22: 01/13/15 09:29:22PM
KnottyMomma
@knottymomma
12 years ago
2 posts

The only thing that I have found for relief, so far, is to crush up aspirin (about 2-3 tablets) and add it to my baking soda wash. I rub-a-dub my scalp with the mix (it's kinda scratchy and it feels sooooo good) to break up all the ickies. Then I wash wash wash until the water isn't salty, then rinse with WHITE vinegar. I like ACV but for some reason white vinegar leaves my scalp feeling a lot cleaner for longer. I can go about 3 days without scratching. Keep in mind that you'll have to stick to this routine for a while before you start seeing real results, but my scalp felt better after the first wash.

I hope this helps!