dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Retwisting Really Isn't Necessary

Karrington <3
@karrington-3
12 years ago
94 posts

Hi hi!

I have been dreading for 4 months and 2 weeks and I have done lots of trial and error type things with my locks. My hair started out being twisted into spiral curls about once a week until I got tired of doing it and decided that I wanted dreads instead. (I had been fighting this for years) I started noticing some knotting in the first month and then it went crazy and took off form there. I then started to maintain them by re-twisting them (against my better judgement) about once every 3 weeks. I didn't to any visible damage to my locks, although I felt like I had.

Re-twisting isn't necessary because I have noticed in the past few weeks (maybe the last month or so) that my locks are pretty much fully dreaded(without the aid of my hands). There is a tiny bit(about an inch or two) around the very tips that is still lose but I'm giving it time to lock up on its own. I actually wash my hair with regular shampoo (well "regular" meaning the residue free kind) and I can scrub away at my scalp without worry of my dreads coming undone. I actually kind of like the "wild" look thy have and the compliments have just been flowing by the truckloads (which makes me feel good about myself haha!)

I think its a bit comical how all the advise SE gives that we all decide what will and wont work for us and I have realized that re-twisting really isn't necessary. Thanks for reading!

PS. Pics to come soon! my dreadies have come so far! :))

updated by @karrington-3: 01/22/20 09:33:16AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

not only not nesacary but pretty harmdful in the long run

they are way better off not retwistuing at all..ever

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
tha tron
@tha-tron
12 years ago
147 posts