dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Tam patterns

Heathen Hippie )O(
@heathen-hippie-o
13 years ago
164 posts

Hi y'all. Again. :D

In my previous post I mentioned crocheting... but I am wondering if any of you lovely people have a pattern you would be willing to share or can link me to a pattern? I am starting with acrylic bc wool is expensive and I'm just learning... And do the patterns you use have knitting instructions? I don't know how to knit. I'm focusing on crochet for now... the book of patterns I bought has knitting instructions. lol Blech. I still need to figure out how to use a gauge, too!

Anyway it would be much appreciated, anyone who can help me out.

<3

updated by @heathen-hippie-o: 01/13/15 09:10:12PM
Heather
@heather
13 years ago
1,291 posts

i love to crochet! i learned how to make a tam last year when i started my dreads. i find the best tutorials on youtube. here's the one i started out with

i also like this youtubers channel http://www.youtube.com/user/tjw1963 . she has a ton of great crochet tutorials and she's really great at teaching beginners.

you might want to look on etsy, too. i've bought a few patterns for hat on there and they tell you in the description what stitches are used so you'll know if you'll be able to do the project.

Heather
@heather
13 years ago
1,291 posts

oh and if you have a michael's arts and crafts in your state they have good sales around this time of year on yarn.

Heathen Hippie )O(
@heathen-hippie-o
13 years ago
164 posts

THANKS HEATHER! lol Sorry for the caps but this excites me. :P We definitely do have a Michael's not to far away. I'm so going there this weekend! I will have to write down the pattern from that vid since I won't have the computer tomorrow. Do I need a gauge for that? Cuz I have no idea how to use a gauge and I tend to stitch tightly sometimes. I will have to control that. lol.

Heather said: