Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hello from Ohio

Jamie3
@jamie3
13 years ago
3 posts

Hi guys my name is Jamie. Im a 21 year old guy from Ohio. I have been growing my dreads since I was 12 years old.

Lately I have been debating shaving my head and just staying with short hair for awhile. I don't know why I feel that it would be best except for I have a very physically demanding job now and A/C isn't really an option and I would be less prone to overheat.

I also HATE when I am wearing a hoodie with my hair pulled back and it looks like I have a hunch back. Some of them are also thinning because I rarely wear my hair down (maybe once a month) I have lost two dreads to that, so I feel really self conscious about the right side of my head as there is one noticibly missing, the other you cant even tell is gone.

Honestly though I feel so guilty about the thought of outright cutting them off. Dreads have been a part of my life for a long time. I have grew with them as they grew with me. I have had them through the darkest moments of my life, the happiest times I have ever felt and every place in between. It's hard to just let go.

It's not just hair as some would say, its much, much more.

Maybe someone out there can sway me to keep them, and show me how to fix my thinning roots, or maybe not.

To cut or not to cut?

updated by @jamie3: 06/10/16 02:04:39PM
Panterra Caraway
@panterra-caraway
13 years ago
667 posts
I am sad that you would feel the need to completely cut them off...but, I am concerned with how much your hair has thinned. I suspect it is due to you wearing your hair up so much :( What else do you do with it? Like your washings habits and products. I tend to agree with the other responses...maybe try cutting them shorter versus off altogether. Blessings brother.
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
13 years ago
29,640 posts

just stop rolling them to death

its real odcvios thats why they are thinning