Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Have problems with your dreads and helmets?

Brandon Arnold
@brandon-arnold
13 years ago
184 posts
Since I started riding a motorcycle recently, I have been trying to figure out the best way to get my helmet on. For a while, I just tried to get it on as gently as possible, because it would pull at my dreads and reaaaally hurt, and the tension on my scalp was unbearable.BUT I was searching through my drawer of stuff I never throw away, and I found this! http://reviews.underarmour.com/2471/8000071/skull-cap-reviews/reviews.htm It's a skull cap thing that keeps your hair tucked down. It doesn't help with the dreading process because it's so smooth, but it really helps getting the helmet on.I used to wear it for wrestling when I had a long mohawk. I placed it on my head (not tucking dreads underneath, there was no need) and I was surprised at how easily it slid over my hair! No problems.And my baby dreads flap in the wind behind me. I can't wait until they're like 2 feet long lmao.So, just a tip for anyone who has this problem. And anyone thinking about riding motorcycles, do it!
updated by @brandon-arnold: 02/14/15 05:37:41AM
Dan B
@dan-b
13 years ago
58 posts
The truth is you require a new helmet that fits lol.I stuck to mine a little to long before having it re trimmed.Try a piece of satin and spray adhesive it inside ya lid. Being v carefull not to damage the visor.Then no need for a corky looking shower cap when you de helmet outide the cinema lolI've been riding for 9 years welcome to the wonderful world of motorcycles :-)
Dave2
@dave2
13 years ago
71 posts

yep noticed the same prob.

time for a new lid.

Brandon Arnold
@brandon-arnold
13 years ago
184 posts
What do you all ride?Yeah I think I'll stick to my current helmet. Not enough ca$h for a new one
Brandon Arnold
@brandon-arnold
13 years ago
184 posts