dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Congos and Dandruff

smackababy88
@smackababy88
10 years ago
5 posts

Hello,

Im in the begining of my journey, almost two months in. I started my dreads via backcomb method and going natural from there on. I did a lot of research before I started and im still learning lots. I did have some questions though. Is it normal for my whole head to congo at the roots every wash? I wash twice a week with nothing but the liquid dread shampoo from dreadlockshampoo.com, and rinse with cold water afterwards. I know separating after every wash just comes with the territory but its like my whole head is one big congo at the roots after every single wash and the separating part is painful and pretty time consuming. Is this something that will lessen with time as they mature?

I also have a huge issue with dandruff. Ive been told dandruff typically becomes an issue with baby dreads as the scalp is adjusting and irritated but its something I had way before the dreads. Its a battle ive fought off and on for several years, it used to come and go but now it seems its here to stay. Ive tried all sorts of things. Dandruff specific shampoos(head and shoulders, selsin blue, etc) Shampoos with essential oils(currently using the rosemary and tea tree oil liquid shampoo from dreadlockshampoo.com), bs/acv rinses, rotating shampoo cycles, washing more and less often...but nothing seems to work or I might get some MILD relief for a week or two before the issue comes back full force. The issue has even traveled to the inside of my ears, my eyebrows, nose, and my goatee. Any other tips/tricks/advice would be greatly appreciated!

updated by @smackababy88: 01/13/15 10:05:40PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,640 posts

well the liquid makes mine all try to congo too it just helps make it dread like crazy the bars i almost never have to separate

the sea salts problky agrevating the dry scalp too