dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

dreads on a boat

Johnie Kraning
@johnie-kraning
10 years ago
3 posts

Hey guys!

Have an exciting adventure I am about to begin. I work in the summers on a fishing boat in alaska, but this is my first year heading out there with my baby dreads. I am 6 months in, and i am loving them more than and more each day, and i am wondering if I should be concerned about them this summer. Now, so you all know. They boat life is busy, and there is no showering. Last summer, it was 90 days. We came back 3 times, but the longest time out there was 7 weeks, and this summer it could be longer than that.

My concern is two fold.

The first is the salt. What is the good and the bad for the salty air and water in my dreads? My initial plan for that is to bring my own tub of water (which I can fill each day) and just be diligent at finding time to wash the salt out every other day.

The second is that there is so much fish/seaweed/scales and the works flyin around all day long, that I don't want it to get inside the dreads, so I am going to make sure I am wearing a a hat and keepin my locks tucked up good and fish free. The problem is that (if I manage to keep the fish out of my hair) I still have my hair crammed in a hat for 16-20 hours a day. Last summer, by the end of it, my non-dreaded hair was so knotted and matted that it took 1 week, 4 showers, a good 14 hours of my own work, three friends and a momma to help get my hair free again.

Long story short, I want to keep these beauties healthy. Any advice, thoughts or experience are much appreciated!!

Thanks everybody!

Johnie

updated by @johnie-kraning: 01/13/15 10:02:26PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,640 posts

note: when i gotto the end i had to scroll up to add this..i hope i wasnt offending you by any of this