dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

New baby dreads 2 months old~

Chandra Bailey
@chandra-bailey
10 years ago
10 posts

Hi,

Just wanted to hello to everyone, Newbie here :) New to this whole dread process/Journey as well. This photo is a pic of my Locs in their current state. They are doing some pretty crazy things and def have a mind of their own.

I started with the backcombing method underneath part of my hair...then t n r for the remainder, All of the backcombed ones fell out, so I took them out completely and redid them with The T n R method.

I wash my hair every other day with clarifying shampoo...no wax or other products. However I have TONS AND TONS OF frizzies and loose hairs...so I used a needs and thread for 2 hours the other night and only got 1 side of my head done sewing in all those strays...needless to say, its back to the same way it was.

Is there a solution for this...and My dreads all matting together?? Everyone says rip them apart!! But it seems soooo harsh, I mean some of mine really have a lot of hairs matted together near the root.

Any help would be great advice taken here!!

Oh and Im a 34 year old small Business owner of "The Lil' Green Shak Bohemian Boutique" in Surfside Beach SC. Been married for 15 years to my soul mate we have a house full of amazing children!! I've always wanted locs and never did it....Im not getting any younger, its time to do the things I want to do and not worry about what image society "Thinks" i should hold. Thank you all and Great to be here he he h. Peace love and all that good ju ju vibez.

updated by @chandra-bailey: 02/14/15 02:28:19AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,640 posts

welcome but dont sew in anything dont do the other 1/2 just dont even think aboit controlling frizz let it get better over time

2nd clarifying shampoos are the most toxic iof all and arent safe to use except every several months to remove residues

and yes you have to rip them apart if they grow together

--