Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Have to cut my dreads in January :(

Bode Shackelford
@bode-shackelford
11 years ago
14 posts
So I'm 14 and I'm a freshman In high school. I've had dreadlocks for about 7-8 months and my mom is making me cut them =(. So I started my dreads with the backcomb and crochet method but after I crocheted the first time I found out it was bad and stopped!!! But after about a week my hair all came out and started the process over all by its self and I feel in love with my new free formed dreads!! But now it's about the 7th month and my mom is making me cut them next month :'(. I asked her why and she keeps telling me because she don't like them and they look dirty and there ugly and all this. So me being in high school I can't do anything so would you guys please help me convince her to let me keep them! I would post pics but idk how to attach them to this! Please help! Love you all bye
updated by @bode-shackelford: 01/13/15 10:00:13PM
Laura Earle
@laura-earle
11 years ago
233 posts

Start dreading again the day you move out and are on your own. :)

Casey Fay
@casey-fay
11 years ago
90 posts

As a Mom myself, I understand her fears. She wants to make sure you are socially accepted. She sees your hair as a possibleobject for being harassed. Sit down with her without arguing or being defensive, and explain how important dreads are to you and why you are letting them grow. Do you have any vices? Swear, smoke, messy, poor grades? Tell her you will trade a vice for keeping the dreads. Then do it! Stop swearing, study more, etc. This will showher youare maturing with your dreads.Lastly, ask her what really bothers her. Tell her you will keep them tied back around her. Wear a hat of some sort. Give her respect. It doesn't mean she is wrong or right, it just means she cares but can't see you as growing up and ready for change. Dreads demand a type of mature attitude. Be loving towards her .

☮ soaring eagle ॐ